Public Announcements


2016 Scholarship Winner - Glen J. Hartford, Jr.

The Minnesota Section of the American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) is pleased to announce our 2016 Scholarship winner: Glen J. Hartford, Jr. a geology major at Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota.  Glen’s professors and teammates have high praise for his leadership, academic knowledge, excellent character, and his “immense passion for rocks as well as people.” Glen is a starting football player and a member of the Reserve Officer Training Corps (ROTC).  Glen intends to use the $1,000 towards a geology field camp registration this summer.


Congratulations Glen! 



2017 Officers & Directors!

The election of the AIPG MN Section 2017 officers and the nomination of the 2017 Executive Committee Directors is complete.


The election resulted in Stephanie A. Theriault elected as President-Elect, Ryan Q. Mathieu elected as Vice President, and Adam Krieger elected as Secretary-Treasurer.


The Executive Committee Directors serve a two-year team (2017-2018). Paula Berger, Robert Blakely, Gilbert Gabanski, Nathan Gruman, and Ryan Schaefer were nominated as directors; Shanna Schmitt, as Past-President, is automatically an Executive Committee Director for one-year.


A big thank you to our outgoing Officers and Directors: Jake Dalbec, Dan Hunter, Paul Putzier, and Laura Scheid! The Minnesota Section is better because of you!  


Congratulations to everyone and thanks for in volunteering! Thanks to all the members who took the time to vote. Click here ( for a listing of the 2017 Officers and Directors.



How to Use Your 2 Luncheon Vouchers as a 2017 Sponsor!

As a 2017 AIPG MN Section Sponsor, your personal AIPG MN member account has been credited with 2 Luncheon Vouchers.  You can use them for anyone you register using your member account during 2017.

When you get to the payment screen, you'll see a section where you can select to use a voucher: 

voucher screen

Please select how many vouchers you'd like to use and click on APPLY.  You'll proceed through the registration process with a $0 balance.  If you have questions or issues using the vouchers, please contact Shanna Schmitt at or 651.757.2697.  Thank you for your sponsorship!




2017 Section Sponsorships Available!

The AIPG Minnesota Section Sponsorship Committee is pleased to announce we are now offering Section Sponsorships for the 2017 calendar year. This annual sponsorship will be $250 per year, and will provide the following benefits to sponsors:

  • Company or individual name/logo featured on a continuous loop PowerPoint display for approximately 30 minutes before/during the announcements at the beginning of each monthly meeting.
  • Company or individual name/logo featured in a sidebar on each monthly meeting agenda.
  • Company or individual name/logo featured on the AIPG Minnesota Section website.
  • Two free lunch meeting attendances to be used at any time during the calendar year (cannot be carried over to later years). Two voucher credits will be added to your membership account and will be visible when you login and register for a meeting on to the Minnesota Section website.
  • Option to give a 3 minute presentation at a monthly meeting (coordinate in advance with the Section President)
  • Company or individual name/logo listed as a sponsor on the AIPG Minnesota Section newsletter (quarterly).


The AIPG Minnesota Section is one of the most active sections in the country because of the participation of our members. A large part of the participation in the Minnesota Section is the monthly meetings. Please consider becoming a Section Sponsor to help us continue to be able to offer low cost monthly meetings to all.


If you would like to become a Minnesota Section Sponsor or have questions about the sponsorship, please contact us at or


You can "order" your 2017 Section Sponsorship on our website here!



AIPG MN Student Chapter - University of St. Thomas!


UST Student Chapter

Students from the University of St. Thomas Geology Department recently formed an AIPG Student Chapter.  Thier bylaws were signed on 02/13/2015, and AIPG Headquarters recognized them on 03/30/2015. Congratulations!

Sara Nelson of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency is the AIPG MN Section liason with the University of St. Thomas AIPG Student Chapter.